#14, or Running a Race to Raise Money for a Cure, or Yea – a Half-Marathon – I Got This


I used to be the girl that would do anything to get out of  gym class – especially running. I was on my period for almost all of my gym class career.

Fun fact: male gym teachers aren’t too inclined to question the regularity or details of your period.

I feigned cramps and periodosity on a very regular occurrence and I tried quite hard to get myself out of running for any amount of time. Even when I was on the track team  I would hide in the girl’s locker room for the “warm-up” three mile run. I was a jumper (long, triple, high) and I stood by that. Jumpers do not need to run, I swore. Looking back, I’ m pretty sure I was a terrible jumper but at the time that didn’t matter, I would do lots of things but the last thing I would do is run.

Then this crazy thing happened and I grew up and I started to run for exercise. Then – go friggen figure – I liked it. I learned to love it. I love how I feel after a good run and I love a good runner’s high. I got up to running seven whole miles in a row without feeling like I might pass out and die any second. I kept telling people I was training to run a half-marathon. Which one? I dunno…

Then I got this promotional mailer from Team Challenge about running a half-marathon in Vegas and raising money for Crohn’s and Colitis research and I thought damn, this looks pretty great. Today, the lovely Holly and I went to an information session about Team Challenge and what it entails. We got some great ideas about fundraising and how we can work together to make a difference for this charity.

I’m a huge sap and doing something to benefit research that could help millions of people? That means the world to me. We’re going to work toward this goal as a team and we should have our website up this week so if you can contribute a single cent it would be amazing. We have a purpose. We have a reason to run. And by the kindness of the organization, we get to participate in the largest night time run in the nation.

I am excited about running a half-marathon for real. I am excited about running with Holly. I am excited about doing something that could truly help make a difference in someone’s life. This is going to be an amazing experience and I am so excited that I get to be a part of it. I’m even more excited that I get to share it with a friend.

There was a time in my life where I refused to run. I sat out during most gym classes and when it came time to run the mile for the pointless physical fitness test, I would speed walk it. Oh, if my gym teachers could see me now…

Action may not always bring happiness, but there is no happiness without action.” Benjamin Disraeli

Challenge accepted Benjamin Disraeli. I am acting.

About Sabrina

I love writing, photography, art, design, and dancing around. I make things out of other things. I bake with my heart. . View all posts by Sabrina

Leave a Reply

