#18, or A Stellar Compliment, or Thank You My Recognizing My Amazingness


Who doesn’t love getting a compliment? Sure, there’s people that pretend they don’t love getting a compliment like “Oh me? Shucks it was nothing” or  “This ol’ thing? I’ve had it for years” or even “Sure I’ve lost weight but I’ve still got a ways to go“… but let’s get real here folks. Come on, it’s just me, you, and the entire internet. We can be ourselves here. There’s no one to judge us. Let’s say it loud and say it proud:

I’m a friggen rockstar and I appreciate when others recognize it!

Okay, we might have to work on a shorter tagline before the parade so any brainstorming on that one would really be appreciated. We’ll also need a cool name for our new association. And colors. People can’t buy our ribbons if we don’t have colors.

Parade aside, it feels really really really good to get a compliment from someone – especially if it’s concerning something that’s important to you. Today I went to check my grades on a recent assignment for my new Lit. class.  A week ago I was thinking – damn, this class is going to be hard and it’s going to wreck my face but in a fun, I love this pain sort of way because YAY for reading and writing! There I was, one eye closed ready to gaze upon the horror of my grade when I stumble upon this stellar compliment from my professor for my first literature analysis piece.

That. Felt. Good.

You may have noticed that writing is a particularly special hobby of mine and getting some kudos on my writing was great. Furthermore, getting kudos on my ability to analyze literature – which I have always second-guessed – was a great ego boost. If she was serious, I appreciate it. If she was lying, this has been a great way to get me excited to participate in class (brilliant). Either way, I’m going to sleep tonight feeling special.

And oh, I will be sleeping tonight. Hi melatonin, thank you for being a friend.

So I know it’s the end of today but tomorrow how about you go ahead and be extraordinarily great at something and set yourself up for some delightful compliments. Or, if you don’t have faith in those around you to compliment properly, spend the day complimenting yourself. I won’t mind. I support it. Inform the world how important and wonderful you are. How will they know if you don’t tell them?

Each morning when I open my eyes I say to myself: I, not events, have the power to make me happy or unhappy today. I can choose which it shall be. Yesterday is dead, tomorrow hasn’t arrived yet. I have just one day, today, and I’m going to be happy in it.” Groucho Marx

I certainly understand this theory but today I’m just going to go ahead and let events make me happy, not myself. Sorry bud, compliments win always.

About Sabrina

I love writing, photography, art, design, and dancing around. I make things out of other things. I bake with my heart. . View all posts by Sabrina

Leave a Reply

