#29, or My Design Midterm, or I’m That Nerd That Likes Her Homework (Gross)


As you may or may not know, I am very excited about my visual communications major. I enjoy getting to play art-time for my homework. I always save my design homework for last because it’s my favorite to do and I like to spend more time perfecting all of the bits and pieces.

This is the cover slide to my very first design class midterm. That may seem entirely unawesome to you, thinking how much homework and midterms suck rather than how fantastic they are; but this exactly the kind of silliness I enjoy. I don’t enjoy that I got much of it done very last minute but hey, sometimes life gets in the way of your plans.

Minus the fact that I had to made the font one that is easily recognizable by most computers (see: Times New Roman), I’m fairly proud of my little project here. I am not ashamed to say I am somewhat impressed with myself. You can congratulate me if you want to, I won’t be upset.

Every new assignment I have in my design class makes me happy – no matter how much of my life is spent toiling away to make things look even half okay. Building my first midterm in a design-specific course has been a great experience. This says to me, hey I’m doing something that I think is really neat and fun. In fact, it’s so fun that I like my homework. This is validating for me. What would be even more validating would be if my professor gives me an A but I’ll wait that one out to see just how validated I get to be.

One day’s happiness often predicts the next day’s creativity.” Teresa Amabile

I need to work on my happiness and my creativity will follow. Got it. Maybe I should do something to make sure that I’m happy every day so that I can be creative every day. Ooh – I could do something like… point out a happy note in each day and then post to my friends about it! That would be a cool idea…

About Sabrina

I love writing, photography, art, design, and dancing around. I make things out of other things. I bake with my heart. . View all posts by Sabrina

Leave a Reply

