#32, or The Closet (Hopefully) Round II, or At Least Howard Hughes Would Appreciate My Sensibilities


There is a very large part of me that is quite afraid of the closet falling down mid-sentence again so I am posting this post with joy and with caution.

I love clothes. I love shoes. You wouldn’t necessarily have known that if you have met me in the last 6 months as I’ve been working at the kind of place that lets you wear yoga pants and flip flops to work. But I promise, I dress like a real girl sometimes. I’m on a mission to try to be less frumpy because dressing down Monday through Friday ALWAYS can sometimes be a bit of a drag for a girl like me with an unnecessarily large clothing and shoe selection.

I have obsessive compulsive tendencies. That being said… don’t hang things in my closet space or you might have an arm chewed off. The people that I love the most have come to understand that I am sort of a nut job about my closet. If they attempt to help and put things away for me I have learned to smile and thank them right before I rearrange it all.

In case you’re curious, let em help you out, hung as follows: long dresses to short dresses, novelty tops (jersey’s, brother’s boy scout shirt), then organized by color (black to white), within the color it is organized by length (long to short), and by formality (formal to informal). On the bottom rack are my t-shirts organized by color, with graphic tees on the right and plain color tees on the left. In that big gap is where my dress pants and leggings (jleggings included) normally go. They are not there because after the Closet Catastrophe 2011 where we all got a little lesson in physics, much of my clothing ended up decorated with drywall. Laundry time yay! There are, of course, separate places for my sweats, pajamas, workout clothes, jeans, shorts, and informal skirts.

As you can see, I’m sort of ridiculous. I would say that this organization helps me stay somewhat sane and makes getting dressed ten times easier. My boyfriend, who has at one point watched me try on at least seven different outfits before going out – would probably beg to differ. My mother has told me I should charge people and organize their closets for them. So if anyone is interested, I take payment in the form of cash, chicken wings, or dark chocolate.

Happiness makes up in height what it lacks in length.” Robert Frost

This is me… not making an inappropriate joke. I will not take the easy way out. I am stronger than that…

teehee

About Sabrina

I love writing, photography, art, design, and dancing around. I make things out of other things. I bake with my heart. . View all posts by Sabrina

Leave a Reply

