#36, or Seeing The Help with my Mom, or I Love my Mom


Life has been kind of crazy lately and my Sunday dinners with my family have been kind of knocked around so it was nice to spend some quality time with my mom today seeing a “chick flick” and getting all emotional at the big screen.

I loved this movie. I have not read the book yet, although it is in my possession and I wanted to see it before it left theaters so I’m glad we were able to set some time aside to check it out today. My mom read the book and she filled me in on some of the differences but hopefully I’ll get a chance to read it soon and check it out for myself.

The story was moving and sweet and sincere and I don’t know who would agree with me but I don’t care. Sometimes I get all meek about how I feel about movies because I’m surrounded by friends that are obsessed with movies and who have ridiculously strong opinions about every movie…ever. This leaves me self-conscious when I like or don’t like a movie. I didn’t grow up watching a lot of movies. I watched horror movies with my dad every once in a while and kids movies occasionally. That was it. So now, as a non-movie buff, I feel left out in a generation of movie obsessed fans. Like the kid trying to fit in with the cool kids at the table.

But right now I don’t care what you think movie buff friends. I loved this movie. I thought it was sweet. I enjoyed all of the acting. So there.

I also enjoyed getting to hang out with my mom. After I come back from New York, I need more mom time. Also, dad. I don’t know what he’s been up to lately either. I am sure that this week while out in the world I will be calling to update my mom on my comings and goings so I hope she’s prepared for that.

My mom has always been one of my best friends in the entire universe and once upon a time we did things together on a constant, almost-daily basis. It is nice to get some one-on-one time with her and do some mother-daughter bonding. I love my mom!!

Virtue and happiness are mother and daughter.” Benjamin Franklin

Yea. We’re virtuous. Get it straight.

About Sabrina

I love writing, photography, art, design, and dancing around. I make things out of other things. I bake with my heart. . View all posts by Sabrina

One response to “#36, or Seeing The Help with my Mom, or I Love my Mom

Leave a Reply

