#73, or National Coming Out Day, or Equality is Neat


How can you not love a day about making people feel loved? Well, I suppose if you’re a terrible person you could…

Today I proudly stood as a straight ally to the LGBT community.

To every person that’s ever been bullied, belittled, or shunned because of their sexual orientation, to every child that faces long days at school and never feels like they quite fit in, and in honor of all of those who have lost their lives simply for being who they are: this day is for you.

No one deserves to feel less than because of the gender of the person they love.

I support love for all humankind and I am glad that organizations like the Human Rights Campaign exist to make right the wrongs in our society and in our laws.

Today I am happy that organizations and people have come together to help be a voice for those that don’t always get one.

I appreciate this day but I hope that eventually, National Coming Out Day will become obsolete and we can all live in a society that is accepting and understanding. I hope some day our society will realize just how petty and entirely unimportant everyone else’s sexual orientation is.

In the meantime, I’m going to celebrate love.

Happiness isn’t something you experience; it’s something you remember.” Oscar Levant

Okay that’s slightly depressing because I have terrible memory problems. Damn.

About Sabrina

I love writing, photography, art, design, and dancing around. I make things out of other things. I bake with my heart. . View all posts by Sabrina

Leave a Reply

