#81, or Here’s My Schmancy New Direction, or The Oldham Project


I’m sure you’re all just dying to know what my new blog vision is so here goes :

Happy Things

I know what you’re thinking – “Hey Sabrina, isn’t that what you’ve been writing about anyway?” and the answer is yes. But I want to branch out. Today’s news outlets have been taken over by negative news. There is war, disease, poverty, hunger, and a billion more depressing things all throughout the world and we can’t be shielded from them – nor should we – but sometimes we need to take some time out to notice the things in this world that are pretty great.

This blog feels a little too self-serving and occasionally boring as it’s just about me. I want to expand my view.

From here on, this blog is about great, awesome, happy things that are happening right now in the world that deserve recognition. This might be a program, a law, or a news story – anything that would make a person to smile and read. I want to point out the good in the world because we all spend too much time focusing on the not-so-good.

This means there will be less pointless clipart pictures to emphasize my point but I’m sure that you will be okay with that somehow.

You may also notice that the layout changed. I wanted something a little lighter to pick up the mood. I also added this great Social Vibe widget on the side. All you have to do is click the link to help fund cancer research. Every click equals a point. Every 100 points equals 2 minutes of cancer research. You click – corporate sponsors pick up the tab. Why would you not click? Go ahead, try it now. I’ll still be here when you get back. (UPDATE: Widget removed because it wasn’t connecting properly. Will try to get back up promptly for do-gooding galore!)

This widget segues nicely into my first new direction blog post.

The Oldham Project

The goal of this project is to make women who have lost their hair to cancer feel beautiful again. They do portrait sessions with complimentary makeup applications to put these women in a setting that allows them to be free and comfortable in their skin.

I don’t know what it’s like to lose my hair because of cancer treatment or to decide to shave my head so that I don’t have to watch my hair fall out before treatment. I hope that I never know that feeling and I hope that a cure is found so eventually no one has to know that feeling. Between now and then though, it is great to know that there is a program that exists to help during such a difficult time.

This program has also branched out with Korageous Kids – where they do the same service for children. Imagine going to school without hair and trying to explain this to kids your age that can’t possibly understand.

A picture from their photo blog:

Thank you to the creators of The Oldham Project for doing something so incredibly newsworthy. Keep making women feel beautiful no matter what. Keep photographing the light in the eyes of women with so much courage and hope.

The only true happiness comes from squandering ourselves for a purpose.” William Cowper

About Sabrina

I love writing, photography, art, design, and dancing around. I make things out of other things. I bake with my heart. . View all posts by Sabrina

Leave a Reply

