#99, or I’ve Got my Designy Pants on, or Yay Creativosityness


If you’ve been following along,  I love me some arts and some crafts and some projects and some designin’.

Lately, I seem to have some new projects on my plate that I’m pretty excited about. I’m working on the educational, albeit less exciting projects for school – learning the ins and outs of programs and how to apply them to my creative genius. I’m creating some fun stuff for our wedding – we’re talking invitations, save-the-dates, fun things of that sort.  And I am just newly involved with sprucing up some marketing materials for church.

I’d say that by the time I graduate, I will have a fairly decent portfolio – especially thanks to the designy things I’m getting into outside of the classroom. I’m taking on projects that excite me personally and/or professionally and it makes the time go by faster and I think those designs always come out better.

Having spent much of the last decade squashing my desire to make and create things, I can at times be pretty self-concious of what I do but it is nice to feel like my mind is just wired with ideas on a constant basis. They’re not all good ideas but they’re there. I want to try a million more things. I want to go to a pottery class especially. I tried my hand at sculpting just this past month and it was fun but there is so much I don’t know about clay!

I want to try origami, make felt flowers, make t-shirts, and all sorts of wacky ideas. Thanks to what I’m learning in school (and sometimes sucking at) and the outlets I have outside of school, I feel like I’m really starting to get into an awesome creative groove. I feel like I have found some sort of niche in the universe.

I just have to keep telling myself that every time I doubt my creations. I am capable, dammit. Also, I’m still learning – perfection is not expected.

So here’s to feeling inspired and excited about making things and to failing on a regular basis but trying again anyway.

When someone does something good, applaud! You will make two people happy.” Samuel Goldwyn

Basically what Samo is saying here is that you should all be applauding me. Often.

About Sabrina

I love writing, photography, art, design, and dancing around. I make things out of other things. I bake with my heart. . View all posts by Sabrina

Leave a Reply

