#102, or Mom Got a Turkey, or Not The Kind of Turkey She Wanted but Still a Turkey


As my dad was occupado again this week and could not assist the bowling team (the infamous Pinguins), I stepped in to save the day. I bowled a 77 and an 87. Go ahead, try and tell me 7 isn’t my lucky number – cuz you’re wrong. 7 is all up in my bizznasss.

So we were under the impression – based on the poor signage from the bowling alley – that if you got a strike in frame 3, 6, OR 9 during the 2nd or 3rd game then you win a turkey. I thought, well hey, that’s a really odd configuration for a game but why not give it a go.

During the 2nd game, both Beth and my mom got a strike in frame 6. We cheered, we were excited, we congratulated them on their turkey. Come to find out later, it’s not 3, 6, OR 9. It’s 3, 6, AND 9. Oops. Although, this makes much more sense. A turkey, in bowling terms, is 3 consecutive strikes.

Tonight, in frames 6, 7, and 8 of game 2 – my mother got a strike. So maybe my mother didn’t get a real live turkey but she got a bowling turkey instead! She was shooting for a turkey and she probably didn’t know that she already got one!

So this made me happy because my mom was excited, she was kicking butt, and I got to hang out and drink some beer. Oh and 2/3 people on the team we were playing didn’t show up so the game went rather quick.

I think my favorite parts though were the following 3 things: 1) my mother saying we all needed to do a pinguin high-five (yea, it’s as ridiculous as it sounds), 2) my mother saying she was a chicken and making a chicken noise, 3)telling my mom we were playing for a turkey and her following it up with a turkey noise and facial expression slash body movement.

Sometimes… people wonder why I’m such an odd duck.

Then they meet my parents and the questions suddenly fade away…

I’m so happy because today I found my friends – they’re in my head.” Kurt Cobain

Such truth, Kurt. Such truth.

About Sabrina

I love writing, photography, art, design, and dancing around. I make things out of other things. I bake with my heart. . View all posts by Sabrina

Leave a Reply

