#122, or Back to Strength Training, or Ooh it Hurts so Good


It’s really easy to convince myself not to work out. The weather, time, homework, being tired, bad day, errands, period, all the fun stuff. All so easy. This week though I’m two days in with working out and it feels good.

It mostly feels good because I finally got off my ass to get back into strength training. My running has been on and off but still fairly regularish. My strength training however has suffered. I can’t even remember the last time I did a strength training routine. I’m pretty sure it was the summer.

Weak.

So now that I got back on the running and the eating proper portions deal, it was time to get my ass again.

Today I did lower body work and I pushed myself enough but not too much. I was shaking and aching but in all the good ways at the end of it. Thursday I’ll do upper body. Next week I’ll get back into some more complicated strength work.

Yea, fun fact, even though I was a personal trainer (and am still certified as such), I’m still a regular person who struggles with maintaining a workout routine. Shocking! I know! Maybe if I was into becoming a body builder I’d have better focus on it but as it turns out – I’m just like everybody else – making excuses and not working out enough.

So who wants to be my workout buddy? I need someone that’ll run/bike/elliptical/strength train with me at the gym weekly to entertain me. Who’s in?!!?

No one I’m sure.

Alas, I shall sweat alone.

Thanks.

Jerks.

Anyway – today made me feel good. Who knew working out could feel so good?!?

Oh right. I did.

I don’t sing because I’m happy. I’m happy because I sing.” William James

Whoa. It’s like the story of my life.

About Sabrina

I love writing, photography, art, design, and dancing around. I make things out of other things. I bake with my heart. . View all posts by Sabrina

4 responses to “#122, or Back to Strength Training, or Ooh it Hurts so Good

  • Alexis

    Preach it!! I just started weightlifting again yesterday. You’ve inspired me!

  • thinkinglazy

    I find the only way I can maintain a regular routine is start my day with a workout, if I’ve been awake for over 30 minutes without, at-least, being on my way to the gym I simply won’t go. Try it out and let me know how this goes for you, I’d appreciate any suggestions to get me to keep on track with any other method.

    • happytwentyfour

      This would never would for me now. Back when I worked later hours it did and you’re right – was great for getting it done and out of the way. But now I wake up at 5:30 for work so to have time to work out and shower before work I’d have to wake up around 4-4:30 and that’s soooo not happening. Not a morning person doesn’t even begin to cover it! Jealous you have the time to though!

Leave a Reply

