#182, or Putting Away my Clothes and Underthings, or Yes I Said Underthings


You may have read that I’ve got this cleaning list happening and I can tell you this much – it’s working wonders for me. Just by creating the list I have already actively worked on cleaning regularly. This house is big and damn if it doesn’t need cleaning all the time. So I do something every day. Literally. Every day. It makes me way less cool to be cleaning a house but I’m learning how to take pride in my space.

I even made a nice and cleaned up David’s space today too by making him a new organization set up on his side of the sink. On that note, can I get an amen for his and hers sinks? Holler! I mean… Amen! Next step, his and hers bathrooms. Then closets. Then beds. Then rooms. Then houses. Then – wait… hmm… this seems backwards…

I did laundry on Friday and it was kind of killing me that I hadn’t put it away yet so it felt good to get the clothes hung today. You might think it’s as easy as putting things on hangers. But no. I have a closet organized like a crazy person , seperated by color, formally, length, and a couple of other qualifiers so hanging clothes takes a bit more effort than just throwing it on hangers and tossing it in the closet. And don’t you even dare hang something facing the wrong way. I will spot it in an instant. And my skin will crawl.

My underthings though. That’s a different story. When we moved I tossed all possible underthings (underoos, bras, socks, etc.) into a hamper and carried it all that way. Then it sat in our bedroom. This mess of a laundry basket haunting me. Every morning I would wade through the hamper to find all the necessary starter garments to my ensemble. It was basically underthings hell.

Today I bought two canvas totes while I was out at Target and with the help of a dresser I finally sorted through the confusion. I now have 20 pairless socks that need pairs ASAP before I lose all of my marbles but other than that, there is peace in my closet. Lurve.

“Only one thing has to change for us to know happiness in our lives: where we focus our attention.” Robert Anthony

For instance, today was a fairly boring, brain tired Monday but I’m happy about separating my underwear from my bras and pairing my socks. Some days it really is the little things. Just look around.

About Sabrina

I love writing, photography, art, design, and dancing around. I make things out of other things. I bake with my heart. . View all posts by Sabrina

4 responses to “#182, or Putting Away my Clothes and Underthings, or Yes I Said Underthings

  • Jen

    So, I think you should Google FlyLady and sign up for the missions email. It will totally help you get organized and keep your house clean with small effort and time each day. I don’t follow it to a T, but it made a huge difference for me. And I was one of those super seasonal, chromatological closet organizers also. Then I moved in with the Huz.

    • happytwentyfour

      Oh man, this website is great! I’m going to check it all out. You can tell which side of the closet is mine and which is his. He’s got button up shirts next to pants next to inside out t-shirts next to hoodies – it’s madness!

  • Stephonee

    “I have a closet organized like a crazy person , seperated by color, formally, length, and a couple of other qualifiers so hanging clothes takes a bit more effort than just throwing it on hangers and tossing it in the closet. And don’t you even dare hang something facing the wrong way. I will spot it in an instant. And my skin will crawl.” I agree with everything about this. My whole apartment looks like an explosion of boxes and stuff from never having REALLY unpacked correctly… and yet everything in my clothes closet is organized JUST LIKE THAT. If it gets into the closet. Ahhhhhh why are our brains wired like this?!?

    • happytwentyfour

      Ahaha. You may recall that my clothes were already here and hung when you all helped on moving day. I came over the day before to organize and hang it all. Because that was clearly the most important thing.

      And oh, I still have a box of “stuff” in my lady tower that’s unpacked. But I’ve got a fabulous looking closet.

Leave a Reply

